No. 37-39 Corn Street was built in 1938 as a bank with offices above. It is Grade II listed. The architect, Sir Giles Gilbert Scott, gained fame by winning the competition for Liverpool Cathedral at the age of 21, and in a long career designed many landmark buildings including Bankside and the Battersea power stations in London, and the iconic K2 and K3 red telephone boxes
No. 41 was built in 1964 to the designs of Bristol architects Alec French Partnership as offices for the Bristol and West Building Society.
Both buildings will be linked to create a total of 100 student studios. In the case of No. 37-39, the ground floor will be integrated with the proposed student residential use providing a cafe for students and for the public alike. This cafe will act as the entrance to the new accommodation on the upper floors of both buildings. Refuse and recycling facilities, cycle storage, and communal resources and leisure space will be created in the existing basement areas.
Full planning permission was granted in 2015.